Post-Sandy-Catch Up Vlog

Hello!  I hope this finds you safe and warm and with power in your house and gas in your car.  We’ve got a lot of power and a little gas in the car, if you are keeping score at home.

When people talked about a Hurricane, no one imagined it would be this bad.  When people talked about having some “days off” because of some storm clean up, I know that I imagined going to movies, cooking and life returning to normal by Tuesday.  I didn’t imagine this would be the scene at Charlotte’s school:

That car is floating.

That car is floating.  The building is to the right.  The cafeteria and all the kids lockers are in the basement….along with the boiler and the electrical system….and half of the East River and fuel and sewage.

I didn’t imagine that we’d all run out of gas.  I didn’t imagine that millions of people would be without power (and still are) and have lost homes and entire shorelines.  I didn’t imagine that the subways would be out and we’d all be stuck in the house for a week and a half.

I did imagine I would blog.  A lot.  I mean….what better thing to do in a storm?  Right?  I did manage to crank out a couple for Weight Watchers but I’ve been MIA on this blog.

But you want to know what I really did this past week?   I did a whole lot of this.

And I made a video with the other kid.   Sometimes you have to hold hands.
I hope you are all safe and well.  We are great.  No complaints.  Here’s a vlog about it.

Post Sandy Vlog

 

 

About Sharon Wheatley

I'm a mother, an actress and a writer. I'm glad you're here.
This entry was posted in Vlog (Video Blog). Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post-Sandy-Catch Up Vlog

  1. Amanda says:

    I'm so glad you posted- I've actually been concerned for you guys. So glad you're all right now.

    I grew up in South Florida – my father lost his entire home in Andrew in 1992 – so Sandy's ferocity was no shock to me. No shock at all. And this makes Sandy all the more heartbreaking to me, because I know the Northeast is not used to Hurricanes and really had no reason to be super afraid…Or at least had no reason to believe the doomsday predictions were true. I wish I had a way to spread out a protection shield over all the places caught by surprise last week. I am so glad you all are okay. Let us know if you need anything! I even want to volunteer in the clean-up efforts if I can get into town soon enough.

    Be well!

  2. Linda S in PA says:

    So glad to hear all of you 'weathered' the storm ok. Just love the vlog of you, Charlotte and Rob!! Hang in there Charlotte with having to go to a new school building – hopefully your building will be up and running soon!

Comments are closed.